First Posted: 10/9/2014

20 Years Ago – 1994

Dallas Middle School’s gifted students attended the renaissance Faire in Mt. Hope, and competed against other middle school pupils from Delaware, New Jersey and Pennsylvania in various contests throughout the day. In the Heraldry contest, the students designed a banner reflecting the philosophy of the school. The team of Michael Messersmith, Lindsey Carpenter, Jeffrey Ryan and Lacey Popson brought home the first place prize for Dallas.

Becca Hadzor recently donated a watercolor of the “Old School Barn” to the Dallas Elementary School. She is an art student at Sue Hand’s Imagery and a sixth grade student at Dallas Middle School.

Gate of Heaven Parent Teachers Guild will hold its 9th Annual Fall Auction Oct. 22 in the school auditorium. This year’s auction will provide a wide array of items up for bid, including a Cub Cadet snowblower donated by Hilbert’s Equipment, and a football signed by Penn State coach Joe Paterno. Planning committee members include Michelle Klaiss, Jeannie Clements, Bob Ryan, Janet Carey, Jackie Zabresky, Rick Evans, Mary Durr, Meg Karwaski, Jim Reino and Rick Guntli.

30 Years Ago – 1984

The 1984 Homecoming Queen of Dallas High School will be selected Friday by members of the student body and announced during halftime ceremonies of the Dallas/Meyers football game this Saturday. The seven girls selected to the Homecoming Court are: Missy Davies, Mary Farrell, Amy Aston, Kerrie Bonawitz, Debbie Kozich, Judy Fitch and Sharon Dougherty.

Two Back Mountain women have been named to Delta Epsilon Sigma, the National Scholastic Honor Society for Catholic Colleges and Universities. June Supey, of Trucksville, and Joanne Parrish, of Shavertown, were inducted into Beta Sigma, the Marywood College Chapter of the National Society during formal ceremonies held last Friday. Both women are senior students at Marywood.

40 Years Ago – 1974

Recently, the class of ’75 at Lake-Lehman High School held an election to choose class officers. Elected for the fourth consecutive year as president was Cheryl Wagner, daughter of Meryl Wagner and the late Percy Wagner, Jackson Township. The vice presidency went to Douglas Agnew, son of Mr. and Mrs. Carl Remley, Hunlock Creek.

Members of the Lake-Lehman girls’ hockey team participated in the “Back to School” Fashion Show at Pomeroy’s Department Store, Wyoming Valley Mall. Sponsored by Pomeroy’s Teen Board, the show featured senior Marjorie Wolensky as commentator. Each model sported both dressy and casual outfits. Models were: Patricia Brooke, Ann Sanfanandre, Cheryl Wagner, Joyce White, Karen Evans, Karen Haines, Renee Hart, Patty McGrath, Pam Phillips, Kelly Dobinick, Suzanne Salansky and Diane Pall.

50 Years Ago – 1964

Two Dallas men placed third in tandem canoe class of the third annual Susquehanna River Canoe Regatta between Meshoppen and Tunkhannock Sunday afternoon. Robert Pickett and Thomas Pavlick covered the sixteen mile course in three hours, one-half minutes.

Twelve-year-old Timothy LaBar, son of Mr. and Mrs. Caddie Labar, Dallas, copped first place in his class at state archery competition and second place in national competition, Junior Men’s Class, at Jones Beach, Long Island recently. The most amazing thing is that Timothy has been interested in archery only the last six months.

Mrs. Florence Davenport was installed for her second term as president of Dallas American Legion Auxiliary at the annual meeting held at the Legion Home. Other officers installed were: vice president, Margo Oncay; second vice president, Elsie Harvey; secretary, Shirley Templin; treasurer, Helen Garbutt; Chaplain, Jean Buckley; historian, Hazel Carkuff; sergeant-at-arms, Littie Wroblewski.

60 Years Ago – 1954

Committee in charge of the Seventh Annual Concert of Back Mountain talent has announced the selection of Clyde Owens, well known violinist, director and music master, as guest artist for this festival of music to be held Friday night at Westmoreland H.S. Auditorium.

Dallas-Franklin Township Band elected officers Tuesday. Dale Wagner is president, Thomas Schmiddle vice-president, and Jean Mead secretary-treasurer. Majorettes are: Ellen Walsh, Joanne Lewin, Barbara Woicekowski, Sally Heslop, and Eleanor Elenchik.

Durbin Class, Dallas Methodist Church, will sponsor a musical reading of the Broadway musicale “Carousel” at the church. Mrs. John Detray will be soloist, Mrs. Noel Thomas narrator, Mrs. Thomas Lehman pianist. Chairman is Mrs. Robert Van Horn.

70 Years Ago – 1944

Bearing as their standard, “Invest a dollar to keep America the land of opportunity,” an army of Republican women launched a State-wide Dewey-Bricker Dollar Certificate Campaign in Monday. Chairmen and Solicitors in the Back Mountain region are: Mrs. Nelson Thompson, Dallas; Mrs. John Anderson, Jr., Dallas Township; Myra Kitchen, Lake Township; Mrs. Richard Reese, Kingston Township; Mrs. Claude Agnew, Lehman Township; Mrs. William Hablett, Jackson Township; and Mrs. William Havard, Exeter Township.

James Huston Jr., son of Mr. and Mrs. James Huston of Norton Ave, and James Waters, son of Mr. and Mrs. Dan Waters of Huntsville Road, received Eagle Scout awards at services in the Dallas Methodist Church on Sunday morning.

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Elston of Machell Avenue entertained at a husking bee followed by supper on Wednesday night. Those enjoying the fun were: Mr. and Mrs. Charles Nuss, Mrs. Lewis Culp, Mrs. Ralph Frantz, Mr. and Mrs. William Culp, Mr. and Mrs. Jack Roberts, Mr. and Mrs. Alden Wagner, Mr. and Mrs. Elston and their daughters Jean, Phyllis and Ruth.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus