First Posted: 3/6/2014

20 YEARS AGO – 1994

Club Pack #155 of Trucksville recently held their Regatta Races. The pack is sponsored by Trucksville United Methodist Church. The winners were: 1st place, Tim Kravits; 2nd place, Ryan Hockenberry; 3rd place, Danny Piccillo; 4th place, Peter Yurchisin.

Lake-Lehman middle level students recently competed in a spelling bee for a chance to represent their school at the National Bee in Washington, D.C. After 10 rounds, Angela Davis and Katie Tripp were the last two contestants remaining. After three rounds between the two, Katie Tripp misspelled lacerate. Angela Davis them spelled it correctly and spelled macadam to win.

The top 9 finalists in the Lake-Lehman spelling bee were: Shannon Shields, Ken Weaver, Allison Kehler, Christina Royer, Katy Tripp, Angela Davis, Alison Piatt, Becky Kaufman and Tina Baigis.

30 YEARS AGO – 1984

Mark Rosing, Dallas, has been notified that he is one of three Luzerne County representatives and semifinalists for the Scholarship Competition sponsored by the National Society of Professional Engineers Education Foundation. The son of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Rosing of Dallas, Mark is a senior at Dallas Area High School where he is Editor in Chief of the Yearbook, and a member of the Drama Club.

Mike Borton and Craig Rome, both members of the 1983-1984 Dallas High School wrestling team, wrestled their way to individual District 2 titles Saturday evening during the District 2 Class AAA Wrestling Championships held at Wilkes College.

40 YEARS AGO – 1974

The grappling Mountaineers of Coach Larry Schuler took team honors at the District II Wrestling Tournament last weekend at the John Long Center in Scranton. It was the second district title captured by the Dallas school since George Dombek introduced the sport 15 years ago. Dave Puchalsky, undefeated for the season, was awarded “Outstanding Wrestler.”

Bob Stanton, son of Mr. and Mrs. Warren Stanton, Dallas, took second place in the World Series of Snowmobiles at Eagle River, Wis. The win ranks him No. 1 in the Eastern United States division of the U.S.S.A. in Stock Class A.

50 YEARS AGO – 1964

It was a big day at Crown Imperial Lanes Sunday when Alan “Chip” Landis blasted away at the pins to the tune of a perfect “300” game. Chip, eighteen years old, is the first person in his teens to bowl a perfect score in Wyoming Valley in approximately twenty years. Chip has been bowling for 1 ½ years. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. John Landis, Oak Hill, and is a senior at Lake-Lehman High School, in the academic course.

Frank (Bud) Cooper won the Nativity School Club’s Annual John Dickman Memorial Award as the outstanding senior basketball player at the University of Scranton. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Cooper, Dallas, and a graduate of Dallas High School.

60 YEAS AGO – 1954

With appointment of Mrs. Charles Eberle to Kingston Township School Board, an unwritten law has been set aside. Mary Louise Eberle is the first woman to serve as school director in Kingston Township.

Westmoreland won from Harter on Dallas-Franklin High School floor in a hotly contested basketball game Monday night, taking the season’s championship by a score of 49-45. Don Hinkle was high scorer, making five baskets and five fouls, fifteen points. Gene Brobst trailed him closely with five baskets, four fouls.

David Robertson was honored as “Senior of the Month” from Westmoreland High School by the Dallas Rotary club at their meeting last month. David is the son of Mr. and Mrs. David H. Robertson of Monroe Avenue, Dallas.

70 YEARS AGO – 1944

Ladies Auxiliary of Laing Fire Company will hold their annual banquet at Lundy’s later this month. Members are asked to make their reservations with Mrs. Clifford Ide and specify whether they would prefer either a ham or chicken dinner. Committee: Mrs. Russell Case, Mrs. Nelson Shaver, Mrs. Thomas Kingston, Mrs. C. Hartman, Mrs. Stephen Sedler and Mrs. Arthur Newman.

Mrs. Charles W. Lee was installed as president and Mrs. Alva Eggleston as vice president at the meeting of Dallas Woman’s Club, held at Lundy’s Wednesday evening. Other officers: Second vice president, Mrs. Robert Breslin; treasurer, Gertrude Wilson; assistant treasurer, Mrs. Wilson Maury; secretary, Mrs. Robert Lewis; assistant secretary, Mrs. Sherman Schooley; and corresponding secretary, Mrs. Niles White.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus