First Posted: 3/13/2014

20 YEARS AGO – 1994

William Woolbert of Shavertown was recently honored with the President’s Cup, presented by the Antique and Classic Boat Society of the United States. The former owner of Woolbert’s Boats belongs to the Northeast Pennsylvania/Harveys Lake chapter of the group.

Junior Girl Scout Troop 707 of Gate of Heaven recently visited the First Eastern Bank in Dallas in preparation for their “Business Wise” badge. Mrs. Joanne Springer from First Eastern explained normal banking operations and career options. Troop members and leaders are: Elizabeth Kuzma, Monica Latosek, Cecilia Williams-Moens, Melissa Everett, Randi Malek, Leslie Dewees, Jennifer Bjelich, Jamie Coleman and Mrs. Jackie Latosek, troop leader.

30 YEARS AGO – 1984

Students from 14 area high schools participated in the annual Junior Engineering Technical Society TEAMS (Test of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics and Science) competition held at Penn State, Wilkes-Barre. TEAMS is a national competition, covering pre-college subject areas in the basic sciences, mathematics and English. Students in the Back Mountain who participated in the TEAMS competition are: Dallas Senior High – Tom Sudol, Mark Drasnin, Deb Milauskas, David Garber, Dave Dillon, Mark Rosing, Joe Ostrowski and Steve Strazdus; Lake-Lehman Senior High School, – Doug Ide, Michael Annetta, Bonnie Perrego, Michael Havrilla, George Steltz, Ray Iwanowski and Ricky Sorber.

The Meadowlark Choral Group and Kitchen Band performed recently for the residents of The Meadows Nursing Center in Dallas. The group is made up of residents from The Meadows Apartments in Dallas. The chorus and band, under the direction of Mr. Don Williams, volunteer their music throughout the area. Members of the Meadowlarks are: Eleanor Cragle, Helen parsons, Pauline Gosser, Barbara Todd, Dot Adamski, Theta Dickson, Verna Welch, Harriet Frederick, Irene Tribender, Florence Shively, Ethel Osborne, Harold Ash, Bob Miles, Margaret Case, Betty Kunkle, Claire Wesley and Ann Hall.

40 YEARS AGO – 1974

Six Dallas Senior High School students have been selected through audition for the PMEA Region II State Chorus Festival at East Stroudsburg High School next weekend. They are: Susan Haddle, Bill Cutter, Edward Johnson, Gerald Brague, Jeffrey Odell and Dagmar Moravec.

Mrs. Joseph Youngblood, chairman of the annual Birthday Tea of St. Therese’s Altar and Rosary Society, has announced that the table hostesses will be: March, Mrs. Joseph Banks; April, Mrs. Anthony Fannick; May, Mrs. Edward Petty and Mrs. Thomas Ochman; June, Mrs. Rosario Vecchio and Mrs. Nicholas Konek; July, Mrs. Peter Luhrs; August, Mrs. Albert Hudak and Mrs. Louis Sledziewski; September, Mrs. Frank Wallace and Mrs. Harley Misson; October, Mrs. Peter Williams and Mrs. Myron Mickiewicz; November, Mrs. John Hudak; December, Mrs. Chester Molley and Mrs. Gustav Wahlgren.

50 YEARS AGO – 1964

Winners of the local Hallmark Art Contest, sponsored by Lehman Woman’s Club, were introduced at a recent meeting of the club by Mrs. Thomas Hillyer. Jack Heidig and Joseph Carsman were each awarded first prize for their entries. Second prize was given to Miss Rosetta Clarke. They are all students at Lake-Lehman High School.

Four Dallas High School students have received music recognition when they were selected to attend the Northeast District Orchestra of the P.M.E.A. at Old Forge in April. Lester Lewis, music director, will accompany David Kopetchney, French Horn; Marsha Sowden, Flute; Monica Haradem, Clarinet; Janice Priebe, Bass Clarinet.

60 YEARS AGO – 1954

Lake-Noxen girls’ basketball team won six out of six games this season. This is their second successive year of championship, under the coaching of Mrs. Florence Worth. Members of the team are: Florence Sutliff, Judy Searfoss, Esther Gailey, Jean Ide, Charlene Kocher, Marilyn Traver, Eunice Traver, Patsy Jones, Tanya Kocher, Nancy Space, Jane Dougal, Carol Deets, Barbara Rood, Edna Gosart, Beverly Steltz and June Ladamus.

Herman Kern was reelected president and the following other officers were elected at a reorganization meeting of Bi-County Teen-Age League on Tuesday night at Shavertown Fire Hall: George Shupp, vice president; Victor Cross, secretary; Robert Hale, treasurer.

Niccolo Cortigalia, Beaumont, well known Wyoming Valley painter of portraits, will instruct the newly-formed Art Group sponsored by Dallas Senior and Junior Woman’s Clubs. The group will meet once a week with instruction for a four hour period once a month.

70 YEARS AGO – 1944

Piano pupils of Mrs. C. Wayne Gordon entertained about 40 guests at the home of their teacher Tuesday evening. Taking part were: Peggy Ockerman, Joan Anthony, Billy Zaffiro, Dorothy Cornell, Janet Cornell, Janet Shaver, Shirley Allan, Dorothy Houser, Jimmy Cisco, Alan Watkins, Keith Malkemes, Ruth Mary Morgan, Jean Malkemes, Rachel Rees, Margaret Ann Morgan, Shirley Gordon and Ada Gordon.

Reservations for the card party, first social function of the Dallas Woman’s Club to be held at Dallas High School Wednesday, can be made with Miss Rhoda Thomas or any of her assistants: Eleanor Bartells, Elsie Ayre, Susan Rice, Nancy Nichol, Aileen Dymond and Marjorie Nichols.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus