Brojakowski and Paraschak score but West loses

First Posted: 7/2/2014

Justin Brojakowski from Dallas and Cody Paraschak from Lake-Lehman drove in the only West runs Tuesday night when the East won the Wyoming Valley Conference Senior All-Star Baseball Game, 14-2, at the Mountain Post Legion field.

Holy Redeemer’s Jimmy Strickland went 2-for-2 with a triple and two RBI to earn Most Valuable Player honors while leading the East to victory.

The West went with a 13-player roster compared to 19 on the East team because of vacations and baseball commitments that kept some players from accepting invitations.

The East jumped to an 8-0 lead before Brojakowski singled in a run and Paraschak followed with an RBI grounder in the bottom of the fourth inning.

Four Dallas players participated in the game.

Domenic Oliveri was 1-for-3 while playing left field and pitching. On the mound, he worked one hitless inning, allowing three walks and two unearned runs while striking out one.

Nigel Stearns, who led off and played center field, was 0-for-1. Chad DeBona played third base and went 0-for-2. Brojakowski played second base.

Paraschak, who started at catcher, was the only Lake-Lehman player. He was 0-for-2.

Tunkhannock’s Ryan Weiss pitched three innings, giving up four runs (three earned) on four hits and a walk while striking out two. He was 0-for-1 at the plate.

The West was selected from graduated senior players from Berwick, Dallas, GAR, Lake-Lehman, Northwest, Tunkhannock, Wyoming Area and Wyoming Valley West. The East was made up from Coughlin, Crestwood, Hanover Area, Hazleton Area, Holy Redeemer, MMI Prep, Nanticoke and Pittston Area.

Earlier, WVC coaches named their all-star team.

Dallas, the Division 2 champion, finished second to only Division 1 champion Hazleton Area in first-team selections on the combined Division 1-2 team.

Jordan McCrum, Oliveri and Stearns represented the Mountaineers on the first team.

Lake-Lehman’s Tyler Kolb and Tunkhannock’s Sean Soltysiak were also first-team selections.

The honorable mention list included Brojakowski and DeBona from Dallas, Scott Bean and Paraschak from Lake-Lehman and Cody Brown and Weiss from Tunkhannock.

comments powered by Disqus