LL Indoor Percussion Ensembles captures first place

First Posted: 7/29/2014

The Lake-Lehman Indoor Percussion Ensemble recently finished its first season of completion in Scholastic Class A. This is the first time an Indoor Percussion Ensemble from Lake-Lehman has competed in Class A.

The ensemble was directed and coordinated by Lake-Lehman alumni Chris Gerlin. Gerlin was joined by Alexander Higgins, Lake-Lehman Director of Bands and Visual Consultant; Pete ReHill, Drill Designer; Chris DeRemer, Battery Instructor; Mike Nederhood, Front Ensemble Instructor; Ben McEntee, Cymbal Instructor; Doug Piazza, Visual and Conditioning Instructor; and Patrick Stanley, Visual Instructor.

The ensemble performed its show “Ding” throughout the season and earned firt place at the Chapter 2 Championships held at Parkland High School in Allentown on April 26.

The Lake-Lehman Indoor Percussion Ensemble was comprised of 26 Lake-Lehman School District students in grades 6 through 12. The ensemble practiced from December until the final performance after the Lake-Lehman Cadet Band Concert on May 14. This was the final high school performance for Indoor Percussion Ensemble Seniors Jacob Rizzo, Hunlock Creek; John Erdman, Dallas); Robert Hamilton, Shavertown; Megan Osiecki, Harvey’s Lake; Katelyn Pelton, Hunlock Creek; and Lake-Lehman Indoor Color Guard Senior Stephanie Konek, Dallas.

The Lake-Lehman Band is directed is Alex Higgins. Lake-Lehman Band groups include Marching Band, Color Guard, Indoor Percussion Ensemble and Indoor Color Guard Ensemble.

The Lake-Lehman Band is supported by the Lake-Lehman Band Sponsors, a year-round organization that hosts several fundraisers to support Lake-Lehman Band programs.

Upcoming fundraisers include the 31st Annual Back Mountain Car Show on Sunday, Aug. 17 at the Luzerne County Fairgrounds and the annual Lake-Lehman Band Food Booth during the Luzerne County Fair Sept. 3-7.

Caption Photo #2: The Lake Lehman Senior Members of the 2014 Lake Lehman Indoor Percussion Ensemble and Indoor Color Guard

First Row (from bottom) left to right:

Megan Osiecki (Harvey’s Lake), Stephanie Konek (Dallas), Katelyn Pelton (Hunlock Creek).

Second Row left to right:

Jacob Rizzo (Hunlock Creek), John Erdman (Dallas), Robert Hamilton (Shavertown).

comments powered by Disqus