Only yesterday

First Posted: 6/26/2014

20 YEARS AGO – 1994

Jessica Fields, a fifth grade student at Dallas Elementary School, has received honorable mention in the 1994 Fine Arts Fiesta Poetry Contest, sponsored by the Wyoming Valley Poetry Society.

The Lehman-Jackson PTA recently held a Knowledge Bee for classroom team champions and grade level champions. After answering 130 questions, the winners of the Grade 6 general Knowledge Bee, determined by a sudden death tie breaker, were: Matt Loftus, Noah Pickett, Christ Stroud and Tony VanScoy. Runners-up were: Carrie Houssock, Crystal Kordisky, Matt McMahon and Jane Perlis.

Jackson Township resident Samuel Smith recently earned the rank of Eagle Scout after building 15 custom houses for resident mammals.

30 YEARS AGO – 1984

Deane Berger, Shavertown, and Edith Pillarella, Dallas, were recently presented the Frances and Louise Maslow Award. Dr. Wallace F. Stettler, president of Wyoming Seminary, presented this award in ceremonies held at the Forty Fort campus. The award is presented annually to a member of the Wyoming Seminary faculty who has demonstrated effective teaching, support of the program and ideals of the school, or who has had a positive influence on the life of the students.

Students from the ecology classes at Dallas Senior High School recently participated in a three-day oceanography field trip to Wallops Island, Virginia. The students, accompanied by ecology instructor Wayne Hughes, went on a research cruise, studied coastal geology, sand dune geology, salt marsh ecosystem, Marine plankton, chemical and physical oceanography. Students who made the trip are: James Jolley, Aiden Cuba, Dave Stofila, Craig Rome, Mark Rogers, Roy Car, Joe O’Donnell, Andy Yencha, Kurt Fetterman, Glenn Eyet and Phil Brown.

40 YEARS AGO – 1974

The annual scholarship of the Dallas Junior Woman’s Club which is awarded to a deserving senior student of the Dallas School District or a child of a club member has been awarded to two Dallas High School seniors. One of the recipients of the award is Karen J. Murray, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Keith J. Murray, Shavertown. The other recipient is William C. Cutter, son of Mr. and Mrs. William Cutter, Dallas.

The 1974 Lehman Horse Show Queen Contest will be held Thursday afternoon at the show grounds on Route 118. Contestants representing area high schools will be judged on beauty and poise. Contestants are: Nancy Greenawalt, Dawn Michele Strouphauer, Sandy Daubert, Jayna Coury, Cynthia Wennig, Chery Casey, Diane McQuown, Deborah Kennedy, Maribeth Taylor, Colleen Demorat, Dani Ziegler and Ellen Vivian.

Charles E. Parente, Dallas, has accepted the position as chairman of the professional division for the 1974-75 campaign of the United Way of Wyoming Valley, it was announced by John B. Hibbard, Commonwealth Telephone Company board chairman and general campaign chairman of United Way.

50 YEARS AGO – 1964

Joan Domnick, 11-year-old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Domnick, Shavertown, won the coveted Father’s Day prize sponsored by Radio Station WILK and announced on Saturday afternoon. Contestants were to present 25 words or less on the subject, “Tell why your father should have his day.” Joan and her dad were interviewed about her answer on the radio and she was awarded a Shick electric razor to bestow on her dad.

Mrs. Arthur Newman has Miss Library of 1964 ready for the Library Auction. The black-haired beauty is dressed in flowered brocaded damask Italian sixteenth century copied by American importers. She wears an evening headdress of the French period of 1859. The dress style is that of an 1855 Godey Ladybook. Mrs. Newman has named the doll for loyal workers in the Library Auction since its first date eighteen years ago. Miss Library of 1964 is named for Clara Ohlman and Mrs. T.M. Hicks. On the chance books, she is listed as Clara Mildred Library.

60 YEARS AGO – 1954

A baking contest will be a feature of Gate of Heaven Fiesta this week. Contestants are invited to bring their favorite product, entering baked goods before 5:30 p.m. for evening judging. Mrs. Frank ferry is chairman. Mrs. John Elenchik is co-chairman. Mrs. James Borton, Mrs. Lester Evans and Mrs. Ernest gay will judge.

Members of the Harveys Lake Woman’s Service Club will hold an informal dance at Beaumont Inn on Saturday evening. Mrs. Donald E. Smith is chairman, Mrs. James Garey and Mrs. Calvin McHose are in charge of novelty dances. Committee members: publicity, Mrs. Harvey Kitchen; tickets, Mesdames Elwood Davis, Carl Schreiner, Richard Williams, Tom Garrity, Ralph Lutes, Elwood Whitesell, Robert Deets and Elizabeth Bavalage.

Marguerite Raub, Park Street, has been announced a first prize winner in a national coloring contest sponsored by Buster Brown Shoe Company of St. Louis. Marguerite won a Deluxe Schwinn bicycle.

70 YEARS AGO – 1944

More than sixty persons, mostly women, attended the annual alumni banquet of Lehman High School at Huntsville Christian Church last Wednesday evening. One service man, Lieutenant Chester Sutton, who recently completed thirty bombing missions over Europe, was present. William Major was elected president of the organization for the coming year and Gilbert Tough, vice president. Other officers: Shirley Howell, corresponding secretary and Elda Coolbaugh, treasurer.

The Dallas Junior Women’s Club are manning War Bond booths in Himmler and Shaver Theatres during the Fifth War Loan Drive. The booths will be open every Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday evenings in July. The quota of the junior club s $4,000. Chairmen of the drive are Miss Doris Stookey and Miss Elsie Ayre.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus