First Posted: 10/18/2014

20 Years Ago – 1994

Karen Burd, daughter of Ray and Linda Burd of Wyoming, recently participated in the Hazleton Performing Arts Competition held at Genetti’s Best Western. She entered the solo Novelty category and was awarded the First Place Trophy. Karen is a member of the dance group “Showstoppers” and the dance line “Sugar,” awarded the title “Funfest Super Line” for being the highest scoring line in the competition. Karen is a solo student at the Back Mountain Dance Studio.

Brownie Troop #649 recently toured the Pizza Hut in Dallas, where each Brownie made a personal pan pizza under the direction of manager, Bob Adams, completing a requirement for the “Food Fun” try-it. Participants included Shannon Kotch, Jill Vanderhook, Sara Swepston, Jessica Kukosky, Laura Morgan, Cassandra Backes, Diana Gilcini, Chelsey Coslett, Kaitlyn Musto, Sarah Rupert, Jana Stec and Angela Duris.

30 Years Ago – 1984

Lake-Lehman High School is celebrating Homecoming Week this week as six young ladies from the senior class have been chosen to represent their classmates as members of the 1984 Homecoming Court. Having been voted by the senior class, these six girls will be featured during pre-games ceremonies of the Lake-Lehman/Pittston Area football this Saturday afternoon: Mandy Wood, Jodi Casterline, Deanne Williamson, Donna DeGennaro, Monica Fletcher and Cheryl Campbell.

Amy Aston was crowned 1984 Homecoming Queen at Dallas High School last Saturday during halftime of the Dallas-Meyers football game.

The Penn Mountains Council f the Boy Scouts of America have announced that Andrew Yencha of Troop 232 has won the Dewitt Wallace – Reader’s Digest Youth in America Leadership Award. Andrew first qualified for the leadership award at the troop level in his troop 232, Gate of Heaven Church, Dallas. Then he won for his district, the west side, and the Council, the whole Wyoming Valley. He is presently entered in the competition for his region which represents several Northeastern states.

40 Years Ago – 1974

Pam Kirshner, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Kirshner, Dallas, was crowned 1974 Homecoming Queen of Dallas High School Saturday. Escorted by Andy Jonsson, the seventh annual queen and her court were presented to fans during halftime ceremonies at the Dallas-Meyers football game.

An International Fashion Show sponsored by Dallas Junior Woman’s Club will be held next weekend in Dallas Junior High School auditorium. The show will feature trend-setting fashions from Europe as well as American-made-ready-to-wear. Mrs. J. William Farrell is chairman, assisted by Mrs. Jack Barbose and Mrs. Alan Landis as co-chairmen.

50 Years Ago – 1964

Torrance Naugle, District Deputy Grand Master, will install the following newly elected officers of Osage Lodge, International Order of Odd Fellows, Lehman, on Wednesday evening at the Lehman Lodge Hall: Frederick Anderson, Noble Grand; Wesley Moore, Vice Grand; Joseph Ellsworth, Recording Secretary; Robert Disque, Financial Secretary; Raymond Searfoss, Treasurer; T. Emerson Evans, Trustee; William Trethaway, Representative to Grand Lodge.

Mrs. Malcolm Nelson and Mrs. Robert Pilger, co-chairmen of the “Hillbilly Jamboree” dance, sponsored by Harveys Lake Women’s Service Club, recently entertained the committee at Link’s, Warden Place. Final arrangements were made for the dance which will be held this weekend at Hansons Picnic Grounds. Committee members include: Mrs. Taft Truska, Mrs. Elwood Whitesell, Mrs. Joseph Volley, Mrs. Ernest Slocum, Mrs. Lee Bicking, Mrs. Albert Armitage, Miss Pauline Davis, Mrs. Howard Jones, Mrs. Clarence Swire, Mrs. Willard Sutton, Mrs. C. Wesley Boyle and Mrs. Earl Crispell.

60 Years Ago – 1954

Dallas Junior Woman’s Club will sponsor a “Meet Your Neighbor” benefit sale of Betty Crocker cake mixes Friday and Saturday. This means that a percentage of all money taken in Dallas, Shavertown and Trucksville on Betty Crocker mixes will go the club for its favorite charity. Co-chairmen of the project are Mrs. K. Bayles ands. William Hanna.

Westmoreland Football Mothers held their annual card party in the high school auditorium Tuesday night, with well over 100 present. There were twenty-five door prizes. Mrs. Walter Cook won the big turkey contributed by Howard Edwards. Mrs. Robert Shotwell and Mrs. Edward Carey were co-chairmen.

Three Back Mountain students are members of the freshman class of Penn State Technical Institute, Wilkes-Barre. They are: Eugene Considine, Bernard Yauchuczek, and Joseph Chukinas.

70 Years Ago – 1944

An honor roll made of native stone and on which the names of men and women in service will be sandblasted is being erected in Idetown at the corner of the Jonathan R. Davis’ property along the Dallas-Harvey Lake Highway. Members of the committee who are being assisted by volunteer workers are: Bruce Williams, chairman; Emory Hadsel, Robert Renshaw, John Race, Roy Tryon and Dean Shaver.

Shavertown Scouts, recently organized under Elwood Swingle, met at the airport Saturday to take a ride over Wilkes-Barre. Present were: Nelson Houghwout, Harry Mericle, Allen Nichols, Willard Durbin, John Fabian, Robert Gardner, Thomas Morrisey, Curtis Newner, Marvin Dymond, Robert Morgans, William Brown, Robert Caryl, William Calkins, Robert McGary and Elwood Swingle.

Fourteen local women who are Community War Chest solicitors attended the dinner at Irem Temple last Thursday: Mrs. Harold Shappelle, Mrs. Richard Rees, Mrs. Rodman Derr, Mrs. Herbert Jenkins, Mrs. Frederick Anthony, Mrs. Hugh Riddall, Mrs. Albert Blase, Mrs. Charles Lewis, Mrs. W.R. Royer, Mrs. Wilbur Nichols, Mrs. Victoria Blannett, Mrs. C.S. Haskins, Mrs. Cedric Griffith and Mrs. Harry Harter.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus