First Posted: 5/21/2014


Taylor Ann Bowman, of Wyoming, daughter of Dr. Kevin E. Bowman and Ann P. James, received a Bachelor of Science degree in biology from Juniata College. Bowman is a 2010 graduate of Dallas Senior High School.


Katelyn Wojcik, of Lehman, is interning this summer at the Domestic Violence Service Center in Wilkes-Barre. She is a junior majoring in accounting and marketing at King’s College. At the Domestic Violence Service Center, she will assist with marketing, special events, and fundraising initiatives.

Wojcik is member of Mu Kappa Tau, the national marketing honor society, and secretary of the Accounting Association.

She is the daughter of Joe and Kelly Wojcik.


Emily Banas, daughter of Michael and Theresa Banas, of Dallas and a member of the Holy Redeemer High School Class of 2010, recently graduated summa cum laude from Syracuse Univerisity, earning a BS in Information Management and Technology with a minor in Global Enterprise Technology.

She was named a Dean’s Scholar upon graduating from the School of Information Studies indicating she was in the top 10of her class. She participated in Student Government, volunteered through Goon Squad and was a member of the Alpha Chapter of Alpha Phi Fraternity.

She was a teaching assistant for the iSchool, worked customer support for SIDEARM Sports for four years and studied abroad in Florence, Italy during her junior year. During the summer of 2012, she was a web production intern for Blood, Sweat & Cheers and interned as a graphic designer for SIDEARM Sports the following summer.

She has accepted a position as an Application Developer for JPMorgan Chase.


Mary Gulotta, of Trucksville, was one of three valedictorians of the Misericordia University Class of 2014.


Misericordia University 2014 graduate Cassie Tirpak, of Shavertown, was awarded the Joan Krause Award for outstanding academic achievement and excellence in pre-service teaching.


Dana Kinter, of Lehman, a member of the Class of 2014 of Misericordia University, received the Dr. Stephen L. Heater Leadership Award given to a graduating occupational therapy student who exemplifies the qualities of leadership modeled by Dr. Heater, including creativity, dynamic vision and exceptional conceptual skills at the annual Honors and Awards Ceremony in Lemmond Theater in Walsh Hall on campus.


Andrea Carr and Jacob Hebda, both of Dallas, were recently honored by Misericordia University for completing the University Honors Program. Both were awarded with a gold stole and keychain at the institution’s annual Honors and Awards Ceremony at Lemmond Theater in Walsh Hall.

The University Honors Program requires students to participate in honors sections of their core courses, participate in Honors Exploration Seminars, complete an Honors Capstone project and achieve a grade point average above 3.25.

Hebda was also presented with the English Department Award for Creative Literary Achievement.


Maria Williamson, of Dallas, a member of the Misericordia University Class of 2014, received the Bishop 4th Degree Knights of Columbus Award that recognizes a student for outstanding achievement in history.


Amanda Lazzeri, of Shavertown, a member of the Misericordia University Class of 2014 was presented with the Dr. Tatjana Petrychenko Award that was established by the Misericordia University Biological Society. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in biology.



Meghan O’Brien, of Dallas, a sophomore Secondary Education-Mathematics major at York College of Pennsylvania, has been named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2014 semester.

To be eligible for this honor, a student must be registered for at least 12 academic credit hours and earn a semester GPA of 3.50 or higher.



Joshua Villarosa, of Shavertown, and Hannah Gildea, of Dallas, were members of the 2014 graduating class of Wilkes-Barre Academy.


Jennifer Cave, of Dallas High School, was a recipient of the 2014 Rose Brader Scholarship offered by the Allied Services Auxiliary at Heinz Rehab Hospital in Wilkes-Barre Township.

The Rose Brader Scholarship was established in 1990 to support the community’s health care needs by investing in student’s pursuing educational in the field of rehabilitation medicine. The award is named in honor of Rose Brader, a former Director of Volunteer Services at Heinz Rehab, knowm as an outstanding community leader with a commitment to the advancement of rehabilitation medicine.



Three Back Mountain residents have been named to the spring 2014 Dean’s List for academic achievement at Coastal Carolina University.

To qualify for the Dean’s List, freshmen must earn a 3.25 grade point average and upperclassmen must earn a 3.5 grade point average.

They are: Christie C. Cawley, of Shavertown, a freshman majoring in Exercise and Sport Science; Kasey R. Wasylyk, of Sweet Valley, a sophomore majoring in Exercise and Sport Science; and Jay B. Dawsey, of Shavertown, a sophomore majoring in Marine Science.

comments powered by Disqus