First Posted: 8/28/2014



The following Misericordia student teachers received their classroom assignments:

Leanna Bell, of Tunkhannock, is assigned to Roslund and Evans Falls Elementary schools; Matthew Bevan, of Lehman, is student teaching at Wycallis and Lake Noxen Elementary schools; Cara Donahue, of Dallas, is assigned to Solomon Plains and Ross Elementary schools; Alicia Finn, of Millertown, N.Y., is student teaching at State Street and Dallas Elementary schools; Sophia Genkin, of Allentown,is assigned to Dallas Middle and Parkway Manor Elementary schools; Colleen Henniger, of Hunlock Creek, is student teaching at State Street and Solomon Plains Elementary schools; Kelsey Mizenko, of Kingston, is a student teacher at Solomon Plains Elementary School; Jack Stang, of Dover, Del., is assigned to New Story; and Matthew Yaich of Jim Thorpe, is student teaching at LB Morris Elementary School.

Orientation leader

Alivia Womelsdorf, of Benton, was a member of a team of 79 orientation leaders who helped make the move-in process as easy as possible during First-Year Student Move-In Day on Aug. 21 at Misericordia University.

They helped welcome 446 first-year students who comprise the second largest first-year class in the 90-year history of the institution of higher education.

Prokopchak honored

Michael Prokopchak, retired Franklin Township supervisor and immediate pastpPresident of the Luzerne County Association of Township Officials, was presented the first Michael Prokopchak Presidency Award for his over 16 years of dedicated service as president of the association.

The presentation was made at the association’s annual meeting and convention held in Kingston township.

comments powered by Disqus