First Posted: 4/24/2014

20 YEARS AGO – 1994

The Harveys Lake Lions Club is proud to announce that the recipients of the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award are Richard Williams Sr. and Carl Schreiner. This is the highest award given by the Lions Club International Foundation to those members involved in many projects which benefit our community.

Back Mountain members of the “Wyoming Valley Harmony Chorus” who will participate in the SPEBSQSA’s annual Barbershop Chorus concert are Bob Carey, Dallas, Charlie Davenport, Shavertown, Harry Howell, Dallas, Phillip Brown, Shavertown, Ted Rebennack, Shavertown, Joe Fry, Trucksville, and Walter “Bud” Griffith, Trucksville.

30 YEARS AGO – 1984

An Easter Egg Hunt was held last Saturday at the American Legion Hall, Sunset, Harveys Lake. Winners of the contest were: Sara Trebenak, Josh Sutton, Beth Ann Wagner, Robin Shaver, Matthew Lee Link, Joy Sutton, Allison Barcheski, Brian Smigielski, Malisa Barcheski and Cristal Sutton.

The Fashion and Design Club of Dallas High School recently held a Fashion Show entitled, “Prom Thriller.” Prom gowns were furnished by Diana Designs of Shavertown and tuxedos were furnished by Sarno & Son. Total Woman and Modern Male guided the models in fashion modeling skills. Models included Paulette Niznik, Suzanne Infantino, Kathy Pierce, Lori Falcone, Sharon Mitchell, Sue Desiderio, Lisa Kerpovich, Robb Musto, Connie Hughes and Laura Hughes.

Residents of the Meadows Nursing Center in Dallas recently conducted the first election of officers for the Resident Council. They are: Joseph Lynch, president, Mary Snyder, vice president, Ethel Stile, treasurer, and Mary Lynn Reinmiller, secretary.

40 YEARS AGO – 1974

Dallas Senior High School recently inducted students into its chapter of the National Honor Society. Those inducted are: Susan Miller, Ann Shelby, Pamela Selingo, Carol Evans, Bethanne Dungey, Janice Stredney, Karen Konsavage, Doris Britt, Karen Carey, Sandra Johnson, Anne Gray, Gwenyth Jenkins, Anne Purcell, Michelle Cybulski, Trudy Connor, Maureen Dexter, Meagan Davis, Gale Young, Diane Zapoticky, Susan Richards, Robert Baird, Neil Cross, Randall Nark, Joseph Sims, Scott Dilley, Roger Herman, Jeff Odell, Mark Kloeber, David Celmer, Daniel Enslen, Scott Slocum, Dorothea Anthony, Davis Casselberry, Karen Aicher, Daniel Monk, Beverly Pugh, Barbara Lamoreaux and Joni Godleski.

Several people from the Back Mountain area are among those practicing for the annual spring concert of the Orpheus Chorale Society. The chorus, under the direction of Eugene Kelleher, will present their concert later this month in Irem Temple, Wilkes-Barre. Back mountain members are: Marie Troxell, Arline Klinger, Marty Diller, Midge Smith, Margaret Rowett, Dorothy Adams, Sylvia Schooley, Norma Smith, Dick Oliver, George Stolarick, Bill Clewell and Dave Schooley.

50 YEARS AGO – 1964

Dallas High School Physical Fitness Team took second place in the Wilkes-Barre Area Physical Fitness Competition sponsored by Coca-Cola Bottling Company of Wilkes-Barre. The Dallas team, coached by Clinton Brobst, outgunned nine other area high schools. Team members are: Lee Isaac, Mark Dymond, Lewis Isaac, Chad Higgs, Bob Anderson and David Ryan.

Lady Toby Rebekah Lodge 514, Lehman, formerly of Trucksville, welcomed five new members recently. Initiated were: Emma Ide, Ruth Johnson, Dorothy Moore, Ruth Disque and Celia Ellsworth.

Mr. and Mrs. William A. Austin, Beaumont, and Mr. and Mrs. Walter Prokopchak, Orange, visited the World’s Fair on Saturday making the trip by bus. The early visit by the assistant superintendent of Dallas Schools was taken as a preview for the coming sixth grade excursion.

60 YEARS AGO – 1954

Mrs. Charles Eberle, 35, Shavertown, was named Mrs. Wyoming Valley in competition with three other finalists Wednesday night at the Parade of Progress in Kingston Armory. Mrs. Eberle is a member of the Kingston Township School Board, a civic leader and the mother of four children: Billy, 4; Carol, 7; Lois, 2 ½; and Tod, 10.

Dallas Women of Rotary installed new officers at Thursday evening’s covered-dish supper meeting at the home of Mrs. Nesbitt Garinger. Mrs. Arthur H. Ross is the new president; Mrs. Oswald Griffiths, vice president; Mrs. Myron Baker, secretary; Mrs. L.L. Richardson, treasurer; and Mrs. Ornan Lamb, recording secretary.

70 YEARS AGO – 1944

Helen Kocher, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Paul Kocher, of Machell Avenue, has been named valedictorian of the Senior class at Dallas Borough High School, with an average of ninety-seven and two thirds. In second place as salutatorian is Clinton Brobst, son of Mr. and Mrs. Clinton Brobst, of Pinecrest Avenue, with ninety-five and two thirds.

The Junior High School Drama Club of Dallas Township is presenting a three-act comedy entitled “Just Like Cinderella,” this weekend. This is the first full-length play that has been given at Dallas Township. The Cast is as follows: Bobby Henney, Clara Ann Evans, David Parsons, Mariella Sullivan, Harriett Prater, Irene Wilson, Margaret Juba, Ray Kuhnert, Florence Jackson and Glen Howell.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus