First Posted: 8/7/2014

20 YEARS AGO – 1994

Students from Dallas Elementary School were recognized for their success in trading stocks during the 1994 Stock Market Game competition in a ceremony held recently at the University of Scranton. The Dallas team of Clint Barnes, Stephen Stolarick, Carrie Kieczkajlo and Rowdy Coyle finished first among 40 teams that competed in the grade 4-6 division of the game this spring in the Scranton-Central Susquehanna area.

Every year the Dallas Elementary PTO sponsors a contest in which the class collecting the most Campbell’s Soup labels wins a monetary prize, usually spent on a party of some sort or an item for the classroom. This year, Grace Reishus’ fourth grade class won the PTO prize and voted to donate it to the American Cancer Society. Class members were: Kevin Price, Terry Emel, Christian Stanislowski, Brian Moretti, Michelle Moore, Stephanie Jary, Diane Werts, Amber LaJeunesse, Dan Mulhern, Matt Metz, Tim Polin, Ryan Rother, Elizabeth Eby, Whitney McOwen, Amy Schoonover, Tim Faneck, Bobby Robbins, J.P. Urban, Doug Jennings, Richard Kapson, Michael Wood, Jody Spencer, Andrea Iannone, Renee Tarin, Robin Haines and LeeAnn Nulton.

30 YEARS AGO – 1984

In a week-long course of Self Defense for Kids at Penn State Wilkes-Barre, children learned a number of simple self-defense techniques as well as the philosophy, psychology and strategy of their application. Participants included Jonathan Valentine, Ryan Costello, Susan valentine, Ted Chernyl, Michael Sholtis, Robert Costello, Ian Messerle, Alisa Merolli, Jimmy Kalinosky and Chris Ryan.

Alton F. Steele, of Sweet valley, was recently honored for his contribution to the state’s management of wildlife resources. Game Conservation Officer Edward R. Gdosky, of Dallas, presented the award at a recent game Commission meeting held in Dallas.

40 YEARS AGO – 1974

Two young girls from the Back Mountain have been named the winners in College Misericordia’s tennis course doubles championship. As part of a tennis class instructed by Sara Gregory, physical education instructor at Misericordia, the girls participated in the tournament at the conclusion of the class. The winners are: Rosalie Gelso, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Gelso, Shavertown, and Tracy Allabaugh, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Allabaugh, Dallas.

Four tired, but enthused Dallas High School students were greeted by one of their fathers last Sunday following their six-day hike along the Appalachian Trail. Chuck Riegel, Ed Williams, Frank Hazeltine and Charles Eckman completed what they started out to do – backpacked more than 100 miles from New York across Pennsylvania to New Jersey.

The Kingston Township Recreation Association held a pet show last Thursday at the Shavertown school playground followed by horseback rides for about 30 kids. At the pet show, first prize was won by Dianne Gdovin with her red Irish Setter, Reefer. Karen and Chris Saul took second place with a white Scottie named Rainey. A Huskey named Sumac won third prize for Donald Bolton.

50 YEARS AGO – 1964

Two local young men, William Whittaker and William Greenley, seniors at Pennsylvania Military College, will appear on nationwide TV next Thursday at Atlantic City for the Democratic Convention. Both are members of Company Q national Society of Persian Rifles, which will perform indoors at the political gathering.

Mrs. Paul Bartolacci, Chairman of the Hostess Committee for the Third Annual Home Tour sponsored by the Dallas Junior Women’s Club, has announced the following club women who will act as head hostesses during the tour which is scheduled for September 13. Head hostesses are: Mrs. John Schmidt, Miss Marlyn Lipfert, Mrs. Stephen Vraebel and Mrs. Ludwig Pasquini.

Debby Rogers and Pat Holdredge, both of Cloverleaf Club, each won top honors at State 4-H Days last week. Debby won first in the dog category and Pat was victorious in Conservation.

60 YEARS AGO – 1954

The Harveys Lake Lions Club is again sponsoring its annual “Lady of the Lake” Beauty Contest to be held Sunday. Chairman for this year’s event is William R. Harris and Assistant chairman is Bruce E. Renard. Committee members: William Casterline, James O’Connell, Gerald Frantz, John E. Nothoff, Edgar Hughes, Richard Williams, Frank Bialogowicz, Walter Wolfe, Thomas Garrity, Harry Jones, Alfred Runstall, John Tibus and Paul Monahan.

W.R. Wiant, Huntington Mills, whose Indian relics are internationally known, is displaying some of his collection at the Alderson Methodist Church Variety Show at Lake-Noxen School Wednesday afternoon and evening. The show will also feature art, hobbies, antiques, flower arrangements and picnic table settings.

Explorer Scouts ion good standing will visit Red Rock next week, make a tour of the radar Base under convoy of Major James Hartley, 648 ACW Squadron, Benton, and eat supper at the mess hall. Making the trip will be: William Butcher, Robert Fitzgerald, Dick Seymour, Clinton Lamoreaux, Andrew Pesanto, Fred Anderson, John Estus, Allan Root, Woodworth Allen, Leslie Barstow, William Roberts and Arthur Ellum.

70 YEARS AGO – 1944

Two new teachers, one for the grades and the other for the high school, have been appointed by Dallas Township School Board to complete the faculty for the coming year. They are: Marian Thomas, of Luzerne, and Alice Purdy, of Dalton.

Young folks of Norton Avenue and their friends held a wiener and corn roast at the home of Della and Dora LaBar, Norton Avenue, Saturday. Present were: Caroline and Ben Coolbaugh, Margaret Ann and Frank Williams, Jerry Machell, Celeste Machell, Billy Wolfe, David Evans, Ann Peterson, Donald Besecker, David Joseph, and the LaBars.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus