First Posted: 11/21/2014

20 Years Ago – 1994

The G.F.W.C. of Harveys Lake inducted nine new members into their service club at its November dinner meeting. The club works to develop the educational, moral and civic interest of its members and to unite their individual effort in the cause of humanity. New members are: Joan Batory, Michelle Reilly, Susan Galka, Barbara Ambrose, Sue Irvin, Deborah Ludden, Linda Harvey, Bonnie Covaleski and Marion DeBalko.

The Dallas Kiwanis Club recently donated canned goods to the Back Mountain Food Bank for needy families in the area. Attending the collection were Joseph Schwartz and Jim Tupper.

The Back Mountain Memorial Library entertained at a volunteer reception at the library earlier this month to honor the many volunteers who give so much of their time and talent to the daily tasks of the library. Attending were: Ann Jordan, Elda Oleson, Gloria McCartney, Carol King, Mandy Plashinski, Deborah Burke, Shirley Forney, Agnes Buchko, Beth Rosenthal, Diane Stefanowicz, Felicia Waynesboro, Mary Ann Sigworth, Cleo Eneboe, Fran Cowett, Jane Ressa, Joann Runner and Lisa Bjelich.

30 Years Ago – 1984

Members of Mrs. Nancy Goeringer’s Foods Class planned and prepared the menu at the Vocational Advisory committee Luncheon held recently at Dallas Senior High School. Chicken Kiev, rice, spinach salad, banana nut bread, lemon bars deluxe, coffee and tea were prepared and served by Jackie Yaple, Lori Falcone, Bill Swan, Jennifer Murphy, Kim Morgan, Heidi Scholz, Theresa Dressler, Jeff Spudis, Tim Doran, Pat McDermott and Joseph Repko.

Dallas Senior High School field hockey players and their parents were honored at an awards dinner last Sunday at Genetti’s in Wilkes-Barre. Varsity Coach Robyn Jones and members of her staff presented trophies to outstanding players of the year Jill Radzinski (Most Valuable Offensive Player and Most Outstanding Contributor to the team); Joyce Tinner (Rookie of the Year), Maureen Wisnewski (Most Valuable defensive Player) and Linda King (Most Improved Player).

40 Years Ago – 1974

Candy sale awards were presented to nine students by the Trucksville elementary P.T.A. for their outstanding participation in the recent candy sale. All proceed go towards children’s parties and necessities of the school. Award winners are: David Lewis, Scott Price, Maria Kane, Eugene Parry, Debra Jones, Richard Andrews, Cindy Van Keurin, Robert Montgomery and Ted Price.

The Dallas Junior Woman’s Club is participating in a Christmas Tree Decorating Contest at the Ethan Allen Gallery. Ideas were submitted by several clubs and six entries were chosen to compete for cash prizes. The committee, with Mrs. John Oravitz as chairman, carried out their old fashioned Christmas theme using patchwork and calico ornaments donated by rave’s Christmas center. Committee members include Mrs. Henry Wasilewski, Mrs. Daniel Lukasavage, Mrs. Alan Landis and Mrs. James Horn.

50 Years Ago – 1964

Robert and Mary Rice, Fernbrook, are on a 16-day tour of Spain and Portugal, all expenses paid. Bob won 1st prize in a sales contest for Kloss Dairy Products by whom he is employed by demonstrating the highest quality sales ability.

Lake-Lehman PTA and parents of the elementary school students held a Tea honoring the teachers last Wednesday. Approximately 150 guests were served fancy homemade cookies, coffee, tea and punch. Mrs. Roger Phillips was chairman, assisted by Mrs. Mark Grimm, Mrs. Gordon Dawe, Mrs. William Calkins, Mrs. Haydn Evans, Mrs. Anselmo Valle, Mrs. James Darling, Mrs. Michael Godek and Mrs. William Frey.

Eagle Scout Awards were bestowed on Arthur R. Miller and Robert G. Schooley at the Eagle Court of Honor held Monday evening by Boy Scout Troop 281 at Dallas Methodist Church.

60 Years Ago – 1954

David Powell has opened a new jewelry store in the Gosart Building, Center Street, Shavertown. There he expects to handle a complete line of watches, costume jewelry and gift items.

Harveys Lake Senior Scouts had an outdoor hike and fire-building experience last weekend, based Friday night and Saturday at he home of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Rossman, Outlet. They took a moonlight hike Friday night, a five-mile daytime hike Saturday. Mrs. Rossman took movies of the fire-building. Those participating were: Claire Schall, Mary Charles McHose, Margaret McHose, Nancy Hoover, Grace Harvey, Barbara Rood, Sally Gregg and leaders Mrs. Ray Harvey and Mrs. Floyd Milbrodt.

Five well-known local teachers were initiated into the National Honor Society for Women Educators, Delta Kappa Gamma, at a recent ceremony at the Hotel sterling. Presented for membership were: Miss Dorothy T. Whithey, Westmoreland High School; Miss Lillian Burgess, Lehman-Jackson-Ross Township schools; Miss Hazel Baer and Mrs. Carrie Rood, Lake-Noxen schools; and Mrs. Oce Beryl Austin, Monroe Township School at Beaumont.

70 Years Ago – 1944

Dallas Junior Woman’s Club will open their Sixth War Bond Drive on Monday with a quota of $8,000. Club members will be on hand in the lobbies of the Himmler and Shaver Theatres every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights to make sales. Mrs. James Oliver, Jr. is chairman and Miss Shirley Sanders, co-chairman.

Fred Woolbert was elected president of Dallas Kiwanis Club at the annual election of officers held Wednesday night at the weekly dinner meeting in Turner’s Restaurant, Kingston. Other officers were: Roy Troxell, first vice president; D.J. Joseph, treasurer. Board of Directors: George Montgomery, Edward Hartman, Frank Werner, J.P. Murphy and Fred Anderson.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus