First Posted: 3/20/2014

20 YEARS AGO – 1994

The Back Mountain Super Sonics took first place in the 1993 Northeast Travel Soccer Tournament with a 3-0 victory over East Mountain. The U-11 boys ended their season with a 6-1-1 record. Team members are: Kevin Callahan, Josh Katyl, Brook Kryston, T.J. Dougherty, John Isaac, J.B. Bucha, J.C. DeRojas, Paul Shiber, Colin McHale, Pat Barnard, Ed O’Dell, Andrew Lohin, B.J. Lewis, John Nackley, Keith Sprau and Clinton Barnes.

Beth Hartshorne, daughter of the Reverend Dan and Sharon Hartshorne of Orange, recently won first place in solo lyrical at the Precision Unlimited Dance Competition at the Mountain Laurel Resort. Beth is a member of the award-winning Bobbettes, which won four first places in tap, pointe, lyrical and novelty along with the Hall of Fame award presented to the best group of the entire competition.

Native Textiles and its $2 million payroll will be pulling up stakes in Dallas and moving to Glen Falls, New York within a year. First shift workers learned at a meeting March 25 that the plant will relocate within the next year.

30 YEARS AGO – 1984

Kim Fey of the Lake-Lehman girls’ basketball team was honored during Saturday’s inter-district playoff game against Athens on the occasion of scoring her 1,000th scholastic career point. Fey finished the night with a game-high 26 points to lead the Lady Knights’ 73-38 victory.

Brownie Troop 641 of Lehman received five ribbons in a recent contest held in conjunction with the 72nd Birthday of Girl Scouts at Boscov’s. Each member of the group designed a country’s flag of their choice and entered it in the Penn’s Woods Girl Scout Council contest. Christina Conrad received grand prize overall and first place. Betty Spencer received second place and Christiana Jones received Honorable Mention.

40 YEARS AGO – 1974

Brownie Troop 627 of Trucksville were recent guests of Brownie Troop 625 of Trucksville at a birthday party in honor of Juliette Low. Troop 625 portrayed “The Old Woman in the Shoe.” Troop members are Lori Castelani, Karen Evans, Beth Ann Gallagher, Deana Jacoby, Corinne Kravits, Jocelyn Margis, Danette Mathers, Serena Morgan, Carol Nelson, Denise Morgan, Mary Roginski, Tammy Roushey, Leanne Swan and Debbie Zimmerman.

At a recent meeting of the Ladies Auxiliary of the Trucksville Volunteer Fire Company, plans were made to hold a bake sale. June Konek is chairman, assisted by Thelma Norrie. Marion Perrin, Diane Grimes and Barbara Goldsmith will serve on the phone committee to ask all members of the auxiliary to donate baked goods.

50 YEARS AGO – 1964

Pat Kanasky, senior at Lake-Lehman High School, was chosen Girl of the Month by the Harveys Lake Women’s Service Club and was honored at a recent meeting. Pat, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Kanasky of Oak Hill, is an honor student, member of the National Honor Society and active in many clubs, particularly pertaining to high school publications.

Mrs. Richard Stouffer, chairman, announced May 5 and 6 as the dates for the 12th Annual Antiques Show and Sale sponsored by the women of Prince of Peace Church, Dallas. Mrs. Edwin Roth and Mrs. Jack Stanley are co-chairmen, and Mrs. Peter Arnaud, chairman of dealers. Other committee members are: Mrs. John Grant, Mrs. Leroy Brown, Mrs. Walter Kozemchak, Mrs. Roger Owens, Mrs. Henry Doran, Mrs. Robert Weaver, Mrs. John S. Prater, Mrs. Edward Ratcliffe, Mrs. Sanford Kellogg, Mrs. Carl Goeringer, Mrs. Ned Hartmen, Mrs. Ben Marshall, Mrs. Joseph Reynolds, Mrs. David Alderson and Mrs. Prentice Lacy.

60 YEARS AGO – 1954

Earl Booth was appointed Road Master for three districts of Lake Township at a meeting the Supervisors held on Saturday night. He replaces Supervisor Walter Hoover who formerly held the job in two districts.

Westmoreland Junior High School Girls’ Chorus took second place at Eisteddfod in Edwardsville on Wednesday night. The group of 20 girls, competing in the Children’s Chorus for students under 16 years of age, sang as their contest number, “Flow Gently Sweet Afton.” Those participating were: Emma Engler, Constance Chappell, Donna Perrego, Judith Roberts, Margaret Stookey, Lida Jean Hughes, Sandra Sprout, Carolyn Davis, Bonnie Ruth Jenkins, Margaret Antanaitis, Judith Nesbitt, Beverly Gosart, Carol Hemenway, Elizabeth Schultz, Irene Timko, Helen Brodie, Joyce Hirleman, Mary Dora Scott, Miriam Oliver and Janice Roberts. Roberta Williams was accompanist.

Senior high school students from Lehman-Jackson-Ross high school elected Walter Edward Steltz on Monday as their choice for Senior of the Month for Rotary Club honors.

70 YEARS AGO – 1944

Mrs. Arline Covert was elected president and Miss Hannah Culp vice president at a meeting of the G.F.S. Class of Christian Sunday School, held at the Culp home. Other officers: Phyllis Elston, second vice president; Gertrude Eckert, treasurer; Elma Major, treasurer.

The Dallas Post is 125 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

comments powered by Disqus