Peewee A wins Thanksgiving tournament

First Posted: 1/4/2009

The Pocono Pirates Pee Wee A ice hockey team won the Binghamton Thanksgiving Classic Tournament by defeating the Binghamton Jr. Senators, 2-1; Mercer Chiefs, 5-1; and tying Saratoga, 3-3, in the preliminary rounds. The Pirates went on to a 6-1 victory over Binghamton in the playoffs and defeated Saratoga, 5-4, in the championship game. Members of the team are, from left, first row, Eric Yenchak, Trucksville; Drew Malvizzi, Plains; Isaac Syre, Lackawaxen; and Austin Orso, . Second row, Dominic Hockenbury, Harveys Lake; Sal Aiello, Wilkes Barre and Ryan Kelly, Mountain Top. Third row, Richie Bachman, Scranton; Jimmy Loefflad, Lehman; Ethan Walker, Pittston; Eric Smith, Dallas. Fourth row, George Hockenbury, Harveys Lake, assistant coach; Josh Sawka, Dunmore; Jeremy Worlinsky, Kingston; George Pfeiffer, Dallas; Nick Yurek, Kingston; Johnny Yenchak, Trucksville; David Roebuck, Forty Fort. Fifth row, Andy Bobynsky, Mountain Top; John Yenchak, Trucksville, head coach; Rich Bachman, Scranton, assistant coach. Absent at the time of the photo was Stevie Kempinski, Mountain Top.

comments powered by Disqus