DJHS soccer team grabs D-2 title

First Posted: 11/23/2008

The Dallas Junior High soccer team recently captured the District 2 championship, defeating previously-unbeaten Abington Heights of the Lackawanna County League, 2-0.

This was the first District 2 title for Dallas Junior High School after making the finals the previous two years.

Dallas scored in the first minute of play on an unassisted shot by Dante DeAngelo. The remainder of the game was a defensive struggle as both teams exchanged multiple shots. With two minutes to play, Brian Stepniak played a beautiful through ball that Kyle Razawich finished on goal.

Dallas reached the District 2 final by defeating Crestwood, 2-1, in a double overtime thriller to win the Wyoming Valley Conference championship.

Falling behind, 1-0, in the first half for the first time this season, Dallas tied the score at 1-1 within the next minute on a score by John Murray. The game remained tied until near the end of the second overtime period when Brian Stepniak headed the ball on a corner kick to win the contest.

In the first round of the playoffs, Dallas defeated Berwick, 5-1, on a hat trick by Murray and two goals by DeAngelo.

The offense was led by the exceptional play of Danny Saba, AJ Nardone, Dominick DeLuca, Brendon Scharff, Dante DeAngelo, John Murray, Kyle Razawich, Chad Debona, Casey Barrett and Brian Goyne.

The defense turned in an outstanding season, allowing only nine goals with 12 shutouts in 17 contests.

The defense was led by Ryan Koslosky in goal and Wendy Greenwood, Brendon Ehret, James DelPriore, Nathan Kish, Blake Purtle, Brian Stepniak, Matt Saba and Michael Gallis in the field.

The team was coached by Russ Eyet and assisted by Luke Ruseskas. The team concluded its regular season at 14-0 and finished its first undefeated and untied season in school history.

comments powered by Disqus