Only Yesterday: Luzerne County Community College awarded scholarship to Lois Geise, of Dallas, in 1986

Compiled by Kim Rollman - [email protected]

Editor’s note: The Dallas Post is 127 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

20 years ago — 1996

The fifth and sixth grade students at Lehman-Jackson Elementary School recently participated in a two-day Knowledge Bee, in which they answered questions related to language, spelling, social studies, math, health, science, geography and current events. Winning team members received gift certificates to the Tudor Book Store by the Lehman-Jackson PTA. Members of that team are sixth grade- Josh Maye, Cliff Culver, Jamie Rhodes and Ryan Blasczak; fifth grade – Ashley Havrilla, Amanda Shaver, Josh Marth and Jesse Turner.

The Dallas Middle School Student Council recently celebrated Red Cross Month. Winners of a special poster contest were: first place – Erica Swatko, Adam Gurnari and Greg Finn; second place – T.J. Daveski; third place – Ryan Balara, Patrick Haradem, Tony Manorek and Josh Bryant.

Two area Lower School students at Wyoming Seminary were recently recognized for their outstanding artwork in Wilkes-Barre’s Fine Arts Fiesta. Ryan Ciocca, Shavertown, won a Certificate of Merit for his coiling, “Beehive.” Julia Chiampi, Dallas, was awarded a Certificate of Merit for her painting, “Reflections.”

30 years ago — 1986

Four students from the Back Mountain were among nine Penn State Wilkes-Barre students inducted into Tau Alpha Pi, the National Honor Society for Engineers. They are: Leonard Perkowski, Shavertown; Joseph Yurko, Sweet Valley; Alan Barret, Dallas; and Phyllis Burket, Dallas.

The Lake-Lehman Band, under the direction of John Milauskas, recently elected officers for 1986-87. The new officers are: Melissa Hontz, president; Marcia McCarroll, vice-president; Joseph Schwartz, treasurer; and Trena Cigarski, secretary.

The Women’s Association of Luzerne County Community College recently awarded a cash scholarship to Lois Geise, a resident of Dallas who recently graduated in the college’s Dental Hygiene Program.

40 years ago — 1976

Nine members of Cadette Troop 715 recently received their First Class awards, the highest rank in Cadette Scouting. They are: Nancy Lyons, Debbie Noon, Barbara Cartier, Debra Gelso, Rose Ann Crisci, Mary Lou Williams, Debbie Karasek, Amy McGrath and Ann Spencer.

Two Dallas High School students will enter college this fall directly after their junior year. Sue Thornton and Bonita Soley will enter College Misericordia this September, completely bypassing their senior year of high school at Dallas. The two students have been accepted at the college under a special early admission program reserved for students of superior academic achievement. Both have selected premed as their major.

50 years ago — 1966

We see that Andy Preslopski, that stalwart son of the soil from East Dallas, made the columns of “Believe It Or Not” recently. The picture was that of the oak tree, which upon being felled, reveled a heart with a dagger running through it. Andy claimed it was felled on Valentine’s Day, a statement which we take with a grain of salt. Anyhow, it’s a good story.

The children’s book booth, under the chairmanship of Phillip Scott, netted $137 this year. The people who worked included Leslie Hamm, Rick Pietraccini, Tom Yarnal, Bill Gorton, Dave Johnston, Mark Hicks and Nancy Rodda.

A group of Shavertown friends enjoyed a theatre party last Wednesday in the Poconos where they saw the stage play, “Mary, Mary.” Present in the group were Mrs. Ruth Houser, Mrs. Elsie Wolfe, Mrs. Florence Kast, Mrs. Ruth Shaver, Mrs. Frances Keller, Mrs. Harold Ash and Miss Helen Bowser.

60 years ago — 1956

Five Back Mountain area students were among 80 students named to the dean’s List at Wilkes College for work during the past semester, it was announced yesterday by John P. Whitby, college registrar. The five students earning at least 2.25 averages (B plus or above) are: Glenn D. Carey, Westmoreland; George W. Davis, Harveys Lake; Ralph S. Harrison, Trucksville; William D. James, Harveys Lake; and Frederick J, Roberts, Shavertown.

Mrs. Raymond Hedden, Dallas, will be hostess to members of the Dallas Methodist WSCS at a garden tea Thursday afternoon at 2. Assisting Mrs. Hedden will be Mrs. David Evans, Mrs. Sterling Machell, Mrs. Stanley Rinehimer and Mrs. Verne Groff.

70 years ago — 1946

The Back Mountain Kennel Club of Dallas met Friday night at the Commercial Club, Harveys Lake, for a dinner party and business session. The tables were decorated with statues of dogs and place cards of various breeds of dogs in which the members are interested. They were arranged by Mrs. J. M. Corliss and Mrs. Oswald Griffith.

Ladies Auxiliary of Dr. Henry M. Laing Fire Company held its annual picnic at Harveys Lake last weekend. Among those attending were: Mrs. Arthur Newman, Mrs. Oscar Roth, Mrs. Edward VanCampen, Mrs. Thomas Kingston, Mrs. Nelson Saver, Mrs. Elwood McCarty, Mrs. R.J.W. Templin, Mrs. Morris Harris, Mrs. Clifford Ide and Mrs. Cora Dunham.

Compiled by Kim Rollman

[email protected]

Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at [email protected]

Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at [email protected]

comments powered by Disqus