Only Yesterday: Steven Saive became Dallas Senior High School’s new band director in 1986

Compiled by Kim Rollman - [email protected]


    Editor’s note: The Dallas Post is 127 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

    20 years ago — 1996

    Eight Dallas students received cash awards and certificates of recognition for the art contest sponsored annually for the last 18 years by the Dallas Area Federated Women’s Club. Honored for their artistic creations in the Dallas High School were Jennifer Reese and Jessica Kozemko. Award winners in the Dallas Middle School were Michael Choe, Nikki O’Brien, Michelangelo Vaccaro, Laura Vodzak, Randa Shahin and Molly Savage.

    Kim Karavitch has a dream, but she needs some help to make it come true. The Dallas High School senior danced her way into an elite group of cheerleaders, and earned the opportunity to fly to London the day after Christmas. But she has to pay her own way, and the $2,000 cost is looming large. Kim is already planning how to raise funds, thinking about items she can sell at football games and perhaps her own 50-50 raffle. And she will probably approach area businesses for support.

    30 years ago — 1986

    The Harveys Lake Lions Club installed new officers for the coming year at a dinner held at Faux’s Inn, Harveys Lake. Installing Officer was Angelo Costello, District 14-H Governor. New officers are Tom Casey, president; Jack Bulman, first vice president; Robert Pilger, second vice president; Richard Goode, third vice president; Wilfred Ide, treasurer; and Lee Watson, secretary.

    It was a big week for Back Mountain youngsters at the King’s College Fourth Annual Summer Camp of Coach Ken Atkins in Wilkes-Barre. Local future cage greats in attendance were Andy Flint, Mark Cameron, Aaron Tillman, Kevin Burns, Joe Patton, Mike Farris, Al Finarelli, Rick Eckert, Tony Finarelli and Lisa Cameron.

    Dallas Senior High School has a new band director, Steven Saive, who has already been whole-heartedly accepted by the band members and the majority of the band sponsors, despite many having to change their vacation plans. He replaces David Benn.

    40 years ago — 1976

    Gloria Hazeltine and Janice Steinkirschner won the three-legged race which was one of the highlights of the Muscular Dystrophy carnival held by the Dallas Recreation Center last week.

    Members of the Back Mountain Jay-C-Ettes recently completed a Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation course. Graduates are Mary Ann Friar, Margaret Dwinchak, Helen Stager, Chris Bachman, Maryann Popielarz, Sandy Mannear, Debbie Bayer, Shirley Kishbaugh, Judi Blase, Glenda Pomrinke, Sharon McDermott, and Ann Rowlands.

    50 years ago — 1966

    Leaving on Sunday for the Pennsylvania State University are Eleanor Jones, Donna Smith. Linda Howell and Dottie Philo, members of Charles James Memorial Assembly No. 144, International Order of Rainbow for Girls, and their advisor Mrs. Betty Meeker. They will be taking courses for three days prior to attending the 24th Grand Assembly of Rainbow.

    Members of the Cloverleaf 4-H Home Economics Club demonstrated the skills learned in a seven week “It’s Fun To Bake” project by entertaining their mothers at a luncheon last Tuesday in the social rooms of the Shavertown Methodist Church. The girls planned, prepared and served the lunch themselves as well as setting and decorating the tables with their own arrangements of summer flowers. Members of the club are: Mary and Ruth August, Diane Chadwick, Joan Havir, Jennifer Ireland, Karen and Laurel Gillis, Sandra Deutsch, Martha Miller, Susie Rogers, Michelle Swingle, Evelyn Scott, Lynda Williams and Lauren Wills.

    60 years ago — 1956

    Eighteen years of safe truck driving and 1,150,000 accident-free miles have won W. Frank Gosart of Meadow Lake, Jackson Township, the Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association’s Driver of the Month Award and a personal “thank you” from Governor George Leader. In a ceremony in the Governor’s office, Mr. Gosart was awarded a gold lapel pin and the PMTA citation attesting his driving ability and safety record. Gosart accounted for 850,000 miles of his record during the past 14 years as an employee of the Mushroom Transportation Company of Philadelphia.

    They’re growing up fast. In kindergarten last year, the following boys and girls are ready for the first grade in September: Billy Dawe, Russell Delet-Kanic, Bobby Achuff, Charles Lija, Paul Bacon, Carl Brobst, Allan Brown, Joseph Drust, Susan Cooke, Ann Davies, Pamela Common, Claire Brett, Mary Louise Brett, Harriet Cranston, Libby Otto and Judy Dana.

    Richard J. Griffith, Trucksville, who was informed over two years ago that he had topped the list of the fifteen persons taking examinations for the position of Trucksville Postmaster, was ordered to report for duty last month. Trucksville Post Office employs two regular clerks, two rural carriers and seasonal help at rush times.

    70 years ago — 1946

    Alderson Methodist Church will present its Sixth Annual Flower Show sponsored by the Women’s Society of Christian Service, Wednesday, at Laketon High School auditorium. Committee in charge of floral arrangements includes Mrs. Albert Armitage, Mrs. Joseph Rauch, Mrs. Arthur Stevens, Mrs. William Hughes, Mrs. Ralph weaver, Mrs. James Morton, Mrs. Harry Reed, Mrs. Alan Kistler, Mrs. J.R. VanLoon, Mrs. John Daughtry, Mrs. Joseph Davidson and Mrs. Morrison Witters.

    Amos Kitchen, veteran fisherman of Harveys Lake, expects to give the boys some real competition now; for he has completed and will launch shortly a brand new row boat. Effectively camouflaged by a coat of steel gray paint and skillfully manned by one of the lake’s finest fisherman, the craft, no doubt, will bring in its share of shiny pickerel on the first brisk fall days. Walter Kitchen of Idetown was co-builder.

    Compiled by Kim Rollman

    [email protected]

    Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at [email protected]

    Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at [email protected]

    comments powered by Disqus